top of page

NAM Volunteer Weekend: Books Bring About Change

For the first annual NAM National Volunteer Weekend, I focused on books. On Friday, I read the books “My Name Is Not Isabella” and “Boy, Can He Dance” to one of the preschools in my area. Each book targeted a stereotype that girls and boys respectively deal with. These books have amazing messages for kids growing up in today’s society! Isabella shows girls that you can find role models in different women, but the only way to achieve your dreams is to be fully yourself and believe in your abilities. “Boy, Can He Dance” lets boys and girls know that they do not have to be discouraged from taking on an actovity or dream if society tells them so. Inwas happy to see a couple of little boys raise their hands when I asked who liked to dance! The kids LOVED the books and were SO excited when I told them they would get to keep the books! (unfortunately the kids’ pictures could not be posted due to legal reasons, but trust me, they were ADORABLE!) 

On Saturday, I was able to go to my local library and donate three boxes of books that we collected from my school through my National Honor Society. It is so important to me that the people of my community who may not be able to purchase books for their children or themselves to have access to a wide array of books, both educational and entertaining. 

Books have played a significant role in my childhood and development, so it means the world to me that I may be able to help contribute some of that in other’s lives through donating and volunteering. 

On Sunday, I planned on hosting a beach clean-up with my friends, but unfortunately, weather did not permit. Instead, I brought baggies of toiletries to the Salvation Army! 

I love the idea of a weekend being dedicated to service nationally, and it warms my heart to see such widespread devotion to making each individual community a better place. One community at a time, we are improving the world we live in. 


bottom of page